tourism spend on food and beverage serving services inthe Hurunui area, New ZealandJun 2015–Jun 2020, NZD millionsProvider: Ministry of Business, Innovation, and EmploymentJun 2015Dec 2015Jun 2016Dec 2016Jun 2017Dec 2017Jun 2018Dec 2018Jun 2019Dec 2019Jun 2020

Domestic tourism spend on food and beverage serving services in the Hurunui area, New Zealand

Jun 2015–Jun 2020, NZD millions


Domestic tourism: This measures people who travel further than 40 km from their place of residence (and are not on a main commuting route).

Below is the definition of the RTO areas according to Territorial Authorities. Note some of these are different from the ones published in the Accommodation Survey from Stats NZ.
Auckland: Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development (ATEED). It includes Auckland.
Bay of Plenty: Tourism Bay of Plenty, It includes Tauranga, the Whakatāne and Western Bay of Plenty districts.
Canterbury: ChristchurchNZ. It includes Christchurch and the Waimakariri, Selwyn, and Ashburton districts.
Central Otago: Tourism Central Otago. It includes the Central Otago district.
Clutha: Destination Clutha. It includes the Clutha district.
Coromandel: Destination Coromandel. It includes the Thames-Coromandel and Hauraki districts.
Dunedin: Enterprise Dunedin. It includes Dunedin city.
Fiordland: Destination Fiordland. It includes the western part of the Southland district.
Gisborne: Activate Tairawhiti. It includes the Opotiki and Gisborne districts.
Hawke's Bay: Hawke's Bay Tourism. It includes Napier, and the Hastings, Central Hawke's Bay, and Wairoa districts.
Hurunui: It includes the Hurunui district.
Lake Taupo: Destination Great Lake Taupo. It includes the Taupo district.
Lake Wanaka: Lake Wanaka Tourism. It includes part of the Queenstown-Lakes district.
Kaikoura: Destination Kaikoura. It includes the Kaikoura district.
Mackenzie: It includes the Mackenzie district.
Manawatu: Central Economic Development Agency (CEDA). It includes Palmerston North and the Manawatu district.
Marlborough: Destination Marlborough. It includes the Marlborough district.
Nelson Tasman: Nelson Regional Development Agency (NRDA). It includes the Nelson and Tasman districts.
Northland: Northland Inc. It includes the Whangarei, Kaipara and Far North districts.
Queenstown: Destination Queenstown. It includes part of the Queenstown-Lakes district.
Rotorua: Destination Rotorua. It includes the Rotorua district.
Ruapehu: Visit Ruapehu. It includes the Ruapehu district.
Southland: Great South. It includes Invercargill, the Gore district, and the eastern part of the Southland district.
Taranaki: Venture Taranaki. It includes the New Plymouth, Stratford, and South Taranaki districts.
Timaru: Aoraki Tourism. It includes the Timaru district.
Waikato: Hamilton & Waikato Tourism. It includes Hamilton, and the Waikato, Waipa, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Matamata-Piako, and South Waikato districts.
Wairarapa: Destination Wairarapa. It includes the Carterton, Masterton and South Wairarapa districts.
Waitaki: Tourism Waitaki. It includes the Waitaki district.
Wellington: Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency (WREDA). It includes the cities of Wellington, Porirua, Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt, and the Kapiti Coast district.
West Coast: Development West Coast. It includes the Buller, Grey, and Westland districts.
Whanganui: Visit Whanganui. It includes the Whanganui district.
Not elsewhere classified: Districts that are not controlled by any RTO. These are Horowhenua, Rangitikei, Tararua, Waimate, Kawerau and the Chatham Islands.

Limitations of the data

MRTEs are provisional until the TSA for the March year are published. Then MRTEs will be revised to align with that data source. For example, MRTEs for the March 2020 year will be updated in October when TSA 2020 is published. Small corrections may occur in historical series if they are identified.
The MRTEs depend on electronic ‘card present’ data. However, in the tourism sector (especially accommodation), services are often pre-booked via online methods, which (to date) have fallen outside the available MRTE collection method (e.g. purchases made overseas).

Data provided by

Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment

Dataset name

Monthly Regional Tourism Estimates: Domestic product by RTO June 2020



How to find the data

At URL provided, select 'Domestic product by RTO'
The data has been resaved as a CSV file with one sheet. The month field was edited to a mmm-yy format.

Import & extraction details

File as imported: Monthly Regional Tourism Estimates: Domestic product by RTO June 2020

From the dataset Monthly Regional Tourism Estimates: Domestic product by RTO June 2020, this data was extracted:

  • Rows: 2-37,586
  • Column: 4
  • Provided: 37,585 data points

This data forms the table Tourism - Domestic expenditure by tourism product by RTO (Monthly) Apr 2008–Jun 2020.

Dataset originally released on:

August 2020

Method of collection/Data provider

The Monthly Regional Tourism Estimates (MRTEs) provide an estimate of regional monthly expenditure on tourism from both international and domestic consumers.
Effectively, the MRTEs are a regionalisation of the Tourism Satellite Account, with airfares and education fees removed.
The totals of the MRTEs align with the Tourism Satellite Account up to the latest Year ending March, by design. Beyond March, the MRTEs are based on observed changes in the value of card transactions i.e. they are a projection off the YE March base.