This chart has been replaced. Find the latest version.

Guest nights spent in commercial accommodation in the Kawerau-Whakatane area, New Zealand

By origin, Sep 2016–Sep 2019, thousands


Capacity (stay-unit nights available): basic measure of an establishment's accommodation capacity. It is defined as one stay unit multiplied by one night. For example, 10 units in a motel available for guest use (whether occupied or not) for the full 31 days in July would have a capacity of 310 stay-unit nights.
Guest night: equivalent to one guest spending one night at an establishment. For example, a motel with 15 guests spending two nights would report that they had provided 30 guest nights.
Occupancy rate: calculated by dividing stay-unit nights occupied by stay-unit nights available. For example, if a hotel had 60 of its 100 rooms occupied every night in August, it would have 60 x 31 = 1,860 stay-unit nights occupied, and its occupancy rate would be 60 percent.
Stay unit: unit of accommodation that is available to be charged out to guests (such as a room in a hotel or motel, a bed in a backpacker establishment, or a site in a caravan park).
RTO: Regional Tourism Organisation. The list below will help you interpret which Territorial Authority and governing organisations each area actually relates to.

Auckland: Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development (ATEED). It includes Auckland
Bay of Plenty: Tourism Bay of Plenty, It includes Tauranga and the Western Bay of Plenty district (not including Whakatāne)
Canterbury: ChristchurchNZ, Destination Kaikoura as well as some non-RTO areas. It includes Christchurch and the Kaikoura, Waimakariri, Selwyn, Ashburton, and Waimate districts (not including Hurunui)
Central Otago: Tourism Central Otago. It includes the Central Otago district
Clutha: Destination Clutha. It includes the Clutha district
Coromandel: Destination Coromandel. It includes the Thames-Coromandel district
Dunedin: Enterprise Dunedin. It includes Dunedin city
Fiordland: Destination Fiordland. It includes the western part of the Southland district
Gisborne: Activate Tairawhiti. It includes the Opotiki and Gisborne districts
Hawke's Bay: Hawke's Bay Tourism. It includes Napier, and the Hastings, Central Hawke's Bay, and Wairoa districts
Hurunui: part of ChristchurchNZ. It includes the Hurunui district
Lake Taupo: Destination Great Lake Taupo. It includes the Taupo district
Lake Wanaka: Lake Wanaka Tourism. It includes part of the Queenstown-Lakes district
Kapiti-Horowhenua: It includes the Kapiti Coast and Horowhenua districts
Kawerau-Whakatane: It includes the Kawerau and Whakatane districts
Mackenzie: It includes the Mackenzie district
Manawatu: Central Economic Development Agency (CEDA) and other non-RTO areas. It includes the Palmerston North, Manawatu, Rangitikei and Tararua districts
Marlborough: Destination Marlborough. It includes the Marlborough district
Nelson Tasman: Nelson Regional Development Agency (NRDA). It includes the Nelson and Tasman districts
Northland: Northland Inc. It includes the Whangarei, Kaipara and Far North districts
Queenstown: Destination Queenstown. It includes part of the Queenstown-Lakes district
Rotorua: Destination Rotorua. It includes the Rotorua district
Ruapehu: Visit Ruapehu. It includes the Ruapehu district
Southland: Venture Southland. It includes Invercargill, the Gore district, and the eastern part of the Southland district
Taranaki: Venture Taranaki. It includes the New Plymouth, Stratford, and South Taranaki districts
Timaru: Aoraki Tourism. It includes the Timaru district
Waikato: Hamilton & Waikato Tourism. It includes Hamilton, and the Waikato, Waipa, Otorohanga, Waitomo, Matamata-Piako, and South Waikato districts
Wairarapa: Destination Wairarapa. It includes the Carterton, Masterton and South Wairarapa districts
Waitaki: Tourism Waitaki. It includes the Waitaki district
Wellington: Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency (WREDA). It includes the cities of Wellington, Porirua, Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt (not including Kapiti Coast)
West Coast: Tourism West Coast. It includes the Buller, Grey, and Westland districts
Whanganui: Visit Whanganui. It includes the Whanganui district.

Data calculation/treatment

The geographical areas are defined for the RTOs, or Regional Tourism Organisations. These are customised aggregations of Territorial Authority.
Daily capacity is measured on the last day of the month.
For hotels and motels, daily capacity equates to the number of rooms available on the last day of the month.
For backpackers daily capacity equates to the number of beds available, and for holiday parks daily capacity is the same as the number of sites available.

Limitations of the data

Please note the definition of the RTOs in this dataset is different from than the one in the Monthly Regional Tourism Estimates. See definitions above.


Hotels includes both hotels and resorts.
Motels includes motor inns, apartments and motels.
Backpackers includes both backpackers and hostels.
Holiday parks includes both caravan parks and camping grounds.


Establishments classified as hosted accommodation (private hotels, bed and breakfasts, and farmstays)
Establishments that are temporarily closed for more than 14 days during a month are excluded from the results.
Establishments with a GST turnover of less than $30,000 are generally excluded from the survey.
Establishments primarily offering accommodation for periods of one month or more are excluded from the survey.

Data provided by

Stats NZ

Dataset name

Accommodation Survey: RTO by variable (Monthly) September 2019


How to find the data

At URL provided, select 'Tourism > Accommodation Survey - ACS > RTO by variable (Monthly)'. All variables were selected to create this dataset. Please make sure that the status flags are shown.

Import & extraction details

File as imported: Accommodation Survey: RTO by variable (Monthly) September 2019

From the dataset Accommodation Survey: RTO by variable (Monthly) September 2019, this data was extracted:

  • Rows: 5-229
  • Columns: 2-2,970
  • Provided: 334,125 data points

This data forms the table Tourism - Capacity, guests and occupancy rates by accommodation type and RTO area (Monthly) Jan 2001–Sep 2019.

Dataset originally released on:

July 12, 2019

About this dataset

The Accommodation Survey is a monthly survey that provides information about short-term commercial accommodation activity at national, regional, and lower levels. Stats NZ runs the survey, which is sponsored by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. Information from the survey is used by regional tourism organisations, local and national government, and the accommodation industry for monitoring and planning. Statistics produced from the survey include guest night numbers, capacity, and occupancy rates.