Skip to main content

Total special votes allowed in New Zealand local elections

By council, 2019, number of special votes allowed

01,0002,0003,0004,000Auckland CouncilChristchurch City CouncilWellington City CouncilTauranga City Council (2 votes per person)Dunedin City CouncilHutt City Council (2 votes per person)Kāpiti Coast District Council (2 votes per person)Hamilton City CouncilNelson City CouncilRotorua Lakes CouncilFar North District CouncilGisborne District CouncilHastings District CouncilTasman District CouncilPalmerston North City CouncilNapier City CouncilHorowhenua District CouncilPorirua City CouncilWhāngārei District CouncilNew Plymouth District CouncilTaupō District CouncilWhakatāne District CouncilInvercargill City CouncilWhanganui District CouncilQueenstown Lakes District CouncilWaimakariri District CouncilUpper Hutt City CouncilThames-Coromandel District CouncilTimaru District CouncilMasterton District CouncilMarlborough District CouncilSelwyn District CouncilWaipā District CouncilWaikato District CouncilWestern Bay of Plenty District CouncilWaitaki District CouncilWairoa District CouncilSouth Taranaki District CouncilRuapehu District CouncilMatamata-Piako District CouncilHurunui District CouncilCentral Otago District CouncilBuller District CouncilManawatū District CouncilAshburton District CouncilTararua District CouncilWestland District CouncilSouth Wairarapa District CouncilRangitīkei District CouncilGore District Council (2 votes per person)Grey District CouncilCarterton District CouncilŌpōtiki District CouncilSouthland District CouncilKaipara District CouncilSouth Waikato District CouncilWaimate District CouncilStratford District CouncilCentral Hawke's Bay District CouncilMackenzie District CouncilŌtorohanga District CouncilWaitomo District CouncilHauraki District CouncilKawerau District CouncilClutha District CouncilChatham Islands CouncilTotal special votes allowed in New Zealand local electionsBy council, 2019, number of special votes allowedProvider: Department of Internal Affairs01,0002,0003,0004,000